1/1/11

Posted: January 1, 2011 in getting personal

1/1/11 11:11 Lucky numbers–> see: Wiki 11:11 or google 11:11.

I’ve been looking at the clock at 11:11 at least once a day by chance a lot lately. I’m a little superstitious and make a wish every time I happen to catch it. That’s a little secret of mine.

The New Year marks a point where most people like to try to re-invent themselves or set goals. There are a few things I realize I need to come to terms with and work on fixing with regards to who I am, which I am sure will prove to be challenging, but I’m ready. Elusive, right?
Despite this New Years Day falling on the fortunate date 1/1/11, it felt exceptionally unlucky. Maybe down the line, I’ll realize that it was a lucky day, but right now, I am feeling so glad that it was over. My morning was unproductive since I stayed up on New Years till about 3:30am. I was unpleasantly surprised to find on my first day at work since I arrived back from St. Louis that I am now scheduled for less than part time hours when I should be logging full time. I also gouged my finger on the way out of work. Then, as my feet were on the 5th to last stair going down into the subway, I saw the tail end of the train leaving the station thus causing me to have to wait 25 minutes for the next one. My finger was still bleeding. I then realized that I somehow lost part of the tips I made that night. I couldn’t stop thinking about that for 25 minutes. My finger was still bleeding. I didn’t get home until 1am. When I stay up a long time, I get hungry, and I was craving this spicy bean dip I bought. I could not get the jar open for the life of me. Usually, I’m the one who can open all jars for everyone, but this one’s diameter was too big for my hand. After about 6 minutes wrestling with that, I gave up. My finger stopped bleeding after I applied pressure. I then read an email from a good friend of mine in response to something I wrote him the day before. It felt like the only positive piece of wisdom all day, and it wasn’t even his words. I was grateful he found it for me because I found some relief after such a “lucky” day as 1/1/11.

Eternity isn’t some later time. Eternity isn’t a long time. Eternity has nothing to do with time. Eternity is that dimension of here and now which thinking and time cuts out. This is it. And if you don’t get it here, you won’t get it anywhere. And the experience of eternity right here and now is the function of life. There’s a wonderful formula that the Buddhists have for the Bodhisattva, the one whose being (sattva) is illumination (bodhi), who realizes his identity with eternity and at the same time his participation in time. And the attitude is not to withdraw from the world when you realize how horrible it is, but to realize that this horror is simply the foreground of a wonder and to come back and participate in it. -joseph campbell

Here’s to the other 364 days.
.s.

Leave a Reply

