Economical Spending

Posted: April 7, 2011 in getting personal, in the news

I’ve already come to the conclusion that I’m not going to be getting my ideal job right now…or even in the next year. Every day I put aside some time to job hunt; I fill out applications, submit resumes and hit the pavement to try to meet the people who are hiring. Today, I decided to take my job travels to a pretty famous gelateria called Grom. I heard they were hiring, so I thought: “I do love gelato and they seem to pay decently enough.” When I told my papa, he replied “You must be desperate.” Yes. Yes, I am. Of course, I don’t want to go into the gelato business, but I need to make some moolah (in this case, emphasis on the ‘moo’) in order to put food on the table and a fat check the size of Manhattan in the hands of the reality company every month. I started an internship with an indie music PR firm this week, so that takes care of me striving towards my musical goals, but like almost every other internship, it is unpaid. I don’t know if you, the reader, are aware of the current job market, but nowadays, there are hardly any paid jobs. There are a vast amount of unpaid internships that are actually very hard to land. Competition for unpaid positions; the sign of the times.
Speaking of signs….
I got to Grom a half hour before they opened and decided to take a stroll down Broadway to do some window shopping. Suddenly, I spied a sign reading in block red letters: “Everything Must Go. Huge Markdowns. Going out of business.” All these women were in a frenzy inside trying on shoes. I decided to see what all the excitement was about. I picked up a pair of ballet flats, and a sales lady came rushing at me like a bull seeing movement.
lady: “What size do you need?”
me:”8. Do you have it in gold?”
lady: “Yes. Here. [shoves a box at me] And White”
me: “Oh, but don’t the white get dirty?
lady: “They’re leather. You can clean them. They’re beautiful, and we are closing the doors for good in 25 minutes. You can have both shoes for $30. They are originally $100 each. Consider it my gift to you.”
me: “Wow. Okay.”

I sat down, put my stack of resumes and my umbrella beside me and slipped on the gold and cream colored slippers. Very comfy. I couldn’t pass them up. I normally pay $12 for synthetic, cheapo ballet flats at Target.
Out comes the credit card. Swipe.
Two new pairs of shoes at an 81% discount and unemployed. I’ll blame it on the economy.

Leave a Reply

