Fast Walker

Posted: May 6, 2011 in cre-a-tivity, NYC

My mom arrived in NYC yesterday, and I have realized that it’s official; I have become
a
FAST
WALKER.

I can’t slow down even if there is no rush to be somewhere.
She lags behind and says “there’s no hurry.”
But I step into the road like a true New Yorker
and wait till there is a lag in traffic, so that I can move
efficiently and quickly to the other side of the street.
I realize she isn’t next to me and that I am 4 paces ahead.
My legs want to bound forward.
Horizontal gravity pulls me.
I want to feel freedom
to zig zag between slow sidewalk blockers
which mother has become.
My metronome feet are presto con brio
while my mind tells me to ritardando, but I see no ending to this music.

Leave a Reply

