If someone thinks that love and peace is a cliche that must have been left behind in the Sixties, that’s his problem. Love and peace are eternal.

Posted: December 8, 2011 in FoundSoundz, in the news, Music, NYC
Tags: , , , , , ,

John Lennon imagined “all people living life in peace” and was shot in the back 4 times at the entrance to the Dakota (where he was living) 31 years ago today. I wasn’t even alive then, but his death still effects me. I got the unique experience of honoring him by singing with hundreds of other fans at Strawberry Fields–the memorial in Central Park that is nearest to the Dakota. I spent a couple hours huddled there with strangers in the low 40 degree weather.

"Yeah we all shine on, like the moon, and the stars, and the sun. "

We didn’t know each other, but we came there with a common cause, we cried, we laughed, we knew the lyrics (for the most part), and we sang (in tune and out of tune). It was really beautiful–one of those moments in time where you come outside of your body and look in from the outside. You see yourself mixed into the whole story, you see that strangers share the same feelings as you, that you are one, that everything is splendid and that you can love one another amidst all this corruption and all these terrible things that are going on in the world.
If I could go back in time, I would travel to the Roaring 20s and the 60s. Sometimes, I think I’d fit in a lot better.

Here are a bunch of sound clips and photos from the John Lennon memorial at Strawberry Fields today.









I was looking for videos that other people took and found this one. When she zooms in you can sort of see my hair bun (I’m wearing a brown coat in front of a guy with a hat): taken from http://sevenpercent.tumblr.com/

Leave a Reply

