Johnny Moezzi (and all that blues)

Posted: March 9, 2012 in LA, Music
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

If you like: Blues, Soul, The Black Keys, Bob Dylan, Chuck Berry, Black Rebel Motorcycle Club

Last night at The Foundry on Melrose, I discovered the music of Johnny Moezzi. For the few hours that I sat there I was fixated. (According to Johnny, it is very un-LA of me to stay through all the sets. I laughed and said ‘Why leave when I’m enjoying it?’).
Johnny and his band of the evening, Dale Jennings on electric bass and Jim Goodall on drums, aurally illustrated a story in front of my eyes with each song. Johnny is lyrically and musically talented. From his very pleasing, soulful voice that resonated with these blues stories to the technically sound guitar interjections to the diverse writing style of each song, Johnny Moezzi and his band are sure to capture the ears of all their listeners. Whether they were playing a slower ballad or an uptempo song, the music was easy to groove to, and you could tell by looking at the audience dancing about freely.

Check out his self titled EP on bandcamp and stay tuned for his upcoming record. I think it maybe be called “Don’t You Worry”…unless he was telling the audience “Don’t you worry, we’ll have our new record out soon.”
One of my favorites that they played last night was called “Fat Mama.” There were a lot of great ones that I think will be featured on the new album. Anyway, keep your ears open for that, buy the EP in the meantime, and sign up for his mailing list on his website. If you’re in LA, check out a live show–the next one is on St. Patty’s day downtown. Didn’t catch which venue, but if you’re reading this and you know, be sure to let me know, so that I can post it.

Check out some snippets I recorded from The Foundry

Leave a Reply

