WE ARE NEVER EVER EVER GETTING BACK TOGETHER

Posted: August 25, 2012 in in the news, Music
Tags: , , , , , , ,

I don’t really follow Taylor Swift’s music, but just by chance, I’ve ended up hearing two of her hits. The old hit being “Love Story” and the new hit being “We Are Never Getting Back Together.” Talk about two completely different songs. 

“Love Story” is the typical country pop that I identified with Taylor Swift. The song kind of turned me off to listening to the rest of her music.

With lyrics like:

That you were Romeo, you were throwing pebbles
And my daddy said stay away from Juliet
And I was crying on the staircase
Begging you please don’t go

I’ll be waiting all there’s left to do is run

You’ll be the prince and I’ll be the princess
It’s a love story baby just say yes

Wondering if you were ever coming around

Romeo save me I’ve been feeling so alone
I keep waiting for you but you never come
Is this in my head? I don’t know what to think

Which then leads to him asking her to marry him.

I identified her as being music for teeny boppers who were still caught up in that romanticized fantasy world of prince and princess. But let’s face it, the real story of Romeo and Juliet is a tragedy. So, I kind of ignored Taylor Swift…actually shunning her music or if I had a friend who liked her, I’d just mimic the lyrics of “Love Song” in an annoying voice.

Now, it seems there is a new Taylor Swift with her newest hit “We Are Never Getting Back Together.” There’s nothing like a bad breakup to inspire better music! I feel this song still hits a younger crowd (like totally), but it reminds me more of the days when I was a teenager and was listening to Avril Lavigne. It’s punky, it’s poppy, it’s a little angry but in the most jovial sense. It’s definitely more empowering for females than “Love Story”, which is probably a step in the right direction for her presence in the music world. Okay. I admit. It’s choppy, rhythmic vocals and guitar are pretty catchy, as is the girly chorus. The light-heartedness of poking fun at how girls say “Like ever” and “I’m like, I’m just, I mean this is exhausting you know” makes the song relatable to more than just females who find Taylor’s message empowering. The overall tone of the song widens that audience, too. 

I’m really gonna miss you picking fights
And me, falling for it screaming that I’m right
And you, will hide away and find your piece of mind with some indie record that’s much cooler than mine

Oooh you called me up again tonight
But Oooh, this time I’m telling you, I’m telling you
We are never ever ever getting back together

 

Props to Taylor Swift. Didn’t think that would ever be coming out of my fingers.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

