It’s time the walrus said to talk of many things

Posted: August 24, 2013 in LA, Music
Tags: , , , , , , , ,

url

It’s not often that I like every song on an album, and it’s even a rarer occurrence for me to like the songs after only one listen.

On Aug 21st, Timekeeper, Lucy Schwartz’s latest album, was released into the universe (you can buy it on Aug. 27th) during her spectacular CD release party that truly took everyone back in time. I arrived at No Vacancy in Hollywood expecting a door facing the street, but was instead led to a backdoor entrance with a long line. “Hotel Juniper-No Vacancy.” We were handed masks, told to step inside, 5 at a time, and immediately…time warp–reminiscent of the 20s or some Disneyland theme park ride where the floor drops out from beneath you. From the little hallway I was expecting it to lead into a bigger room, but instead the door opened up to a bedroom of a “prostitute.” The scantily clad lady was talking, but all I could do was look at the surroundings. My group was nervously laughing. All of the sudden, the bed was cut in half, slid open and stairs appeared. Who knew prohibition could be this fun?!

Image

The venue was outside for Lucy. Great atmosphere with lights strung and her trailer for timekeeper was playing above us on brick walls. Greatest trailer for an album ever! And must be seen here Her band was set up on a southern looking porch and smack dab in the middle was the time machine (seen in the linked video). There was a huge crowd. I heard that some people couldn’t get in because they hit max capacity.  I was in the front row…being the reporter that I am. 🙂

With my drink, the Royal Swizzle, in hand, the music began. I must say that this album is a lot different from the last, “Keep Me”. It’s more versatile. It shows all different styles of her voice, her music and yes…time. At moments, I felt like I was in an underground basement in Brooklyn listening to indie rock, other times I felt like I was in a field of flowers with a bunch of other love children singing along. There were even times where it became “croony”…you know like country, but the good, old kind of country. Timekeeper really embodies many eras, and Lucy’s virtuosity in both song writing and musicianship make each song shine a special light.

Image

I already have a signed copy. Pre-order Timekeeper through iTunes. More info on her site http://www.lucyschwartzmusic.com/

Leave a Reply

